< >
Anima Eterna Brugge

Anima Eterna Brugge

Majestic Chamber Music

Inspired by the six-part Septet in E-flat major, Opus 20, which Beethoven published in 1802, Franz Schubert started composing his Octet in F major, D 803 in 1824. Schubert added a second violin to the instrumentation of Beethoven’s Septet and adopted the overarching six-part structure and progression of keys in the piece almost unaltered. But the beauty of the lilting melodies with their suggestion of the eternal, the subtle interplay of light and shadow, the expressive harmonies and sensitive melancholy of the Octet are entirely Schubert’s own. Anima Eterna Brugge combines Schubert with Franz Berwald. Berwald is considered to be Swedens most famous composer. In 1911, fellow composer Carl Nielsen remarked: “Neither money, power or the media can influence good art. There will always be a few simple, decent artists who show the way, produce good art and stand up for their work. The best example of such an artist can be found in Sweden: Berwald.” This majestic chamber music is led by the violinist Jakob Lehmann.

Lisa Shklyaver, clarinet | Lisa Goldberg, bassoon | Ulrich Hübner, horn | László Paulik, violin | Bernadette Verhagen, viola | Davit Melkonyan, cello | Beltane Ruiz Molina, double bass | Jakob Lehmann, violin & artistic leader
F. Berwald: Septet in B-flat major | F. Schubert: Octet in F major, Opus 166
FRI 05.04.19 | 21.00
20.15 Introduction by Klaas Coulembier (Dutch spoken)

Cat. 1: € 28 / € 24
Cat. 2: € 24 / € 20

This concert can be part of the subscription: