< >
Liesbeth Devos, Reinbert de Leeuw &  Het Collectief

Liesbeth Devos, Reinbert de Leeuw & Het Collectief

'Verein für musikalische Privataufführungen'

In this programme, the musicians of Het Collectief return to their musical roots: the innovative music written in Vienna in the early 20th century by composers such as Schönberg, Berg and Webern. Their starting point is the private concerts that Schönberg himself organised at the time to present new work to interested audiences. For practical and financial reasons, adaptations for a small ensemble were played at these concerts. The musicians of Het Collectief combine these with highly inspired new arrangements by Reinbert de Leeuw, who also conducts the ensemble. They use the basic instrumentation available at the time: a few strings, wind instruments, piano and harmonium. The soprano Liesbeth Devos perfectly evokes the brooding, unheimlich atmosphere of turn-of-the-century Vienna.

Liesbeth Devos, soprano | Het Collectief | Reinbert de Leeuw, artistic leader
F. Busoni / A. Schönberg: Berceuse Élégiaque, Opus 42 | A. Berg / R. de Leeuw: Sieben frühe Lieder, Opus 4 | A. Schönberg / A. Webern: Kammersymphonie, Opus 9 | A. Zemlinsky / L. & E. Stein / R. de Leeuw: Sechs Gesänge nach Maeterlinck | A. Webern / R. de Leeuw: Passacaglia, Opus 1
FRI 15.02.19 | 21.00
20.15 Introduction by Frederic Delmotte (Dutch spoken)

Cat. 1: € 20 / € 16
Cat. 2: € 16 / € 14