< >
Rachel Podger & friends

Rachel Podger & friends

Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber: Rosary Sonatas

Rachel Podger plays a selection of the most sensational Baroque works for violin and basso continuo, Biber’s Rosary Sonatas. Written for the most important masses in Salzburg Cathedral, the sonatas evoke key moments in the lives of Christ and the Virgin Mary. The fifteen sonatas and impressive closing Passacaglia are composed with unrivalled freedom, fantasy and virtuosity. In some parts we hear musical fireworks; in others, Biber withdraws to the intimacy of his personal religious experience. Moreover, each sonata requires a different tuning (scordatura) in the violin. “A glorious example of someone who lives life through her violin”, The Gramophone wrote about Podger.


Rachel Podger, violin | Daniele Caminiti, lute & theorbo | Marcin Swiatkiewicz, organ & harpsichord

H.I.F. von Biber: Mystery Sonatas (Rosary Sonatas) (selection: no. 1, 4, 7, 10, 11, 12, 14 & 16)


FRI 16.11.18 | 21.00
20.15 Introduction by Koen Uvin (Dutch spoken)

Cat. 1: € 28 / € 24
Cat. 2: € 24 / € 20