< >
Tobias Koch & Hoffmeister Quartett

Tobias Koch & Hoffmeister Quartett

Beethoven - Reloaded by Beethoven

Tobias Koch and the Hoffmeister Quartett cast covetous eyes upon Beethoven as adapter of his own work. You will hear Beethovens piano sonata from 1789, followed by his own arrangement of that piece for string quartet, a composition that Beethoven was very proud of. Furthermore the programme features variations on a theme from the third symphony Eroica and Beethovens version for chamber music of his fourth piano concerto.

His arrangement of the fourth piano concerto was enriched with plenty of virtuoso elements. Tobias Koch restored the score on the basis of notes in Beethovens autographs. This process of discovery resulted for Koch in numerous aha-experiences. At the same time it is a quasi improvisatory version of generally known works, enabling a fascinating scoop of Beethoven as pianist, as Koch put it.

Ulla Bundies, violin | Christoph Heidemann, violin | Aino Hildebrandt, viola | Cosima Nieschlag, viola | Martin Seemann, cello | Tobias Koch, forte piano
L. van Beethoven: Klaviersonate in E, opus 14, nr. 1 | Strijkkwartet in F naar de Klaviersonate opus 14 nr. 1 | Klavierconcert nr. 4, opus 58 (versie voor pianoforte en strijkkwintet)
SUN 01.03.15 | 15.00

cat 1: € 28 / € 24

cat 2: € 24 / € 20